Allergen information on nougat and sweets.

Does nougat contain Gluten? Does it contain lactose? There is not much written about the allergens in nougat and chocolate, and food allergies and intolerances are becoming more and more frequent. In our
nougat store
we want to help you feel safe when consuming our nougat and sweets and that is why in this article we offer you everything you need to know about the allergens in the nougat we elaborate in our workshop.

Allergens in nougat

The allergens of all our artisan nougats are detailed in each and every one of the packages along with the list of ingredients of each product. On the one hand, in the list of ingredients you can find the allergens that are directly related to an ingredient and then, duly specified, the possible traces that can be found.

Allergens in nougat is a subject that generates new doubts every day. First of all, depending on each nougat, the list of ingredients is different and therefore, so is the list of allergens. In addition, being a seasonal and above all artisan product, we find that each manufacturer has its own recipes, manufacturing processes and ingredients. This increases the chances of finding different allergens.

Here are some of the other allergens we are often asked about. If you do not find the answer you can consult us personally and we will answer you as soon as possible.

Allergens of our nougats and candies

Although there are different allergens in our catalog, it is only necessary to pay attention to the following ones:

  • Nuts in shell or shelled (almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, etc…)
  • Gluten: Cereals containing gluten (wheat, rye, barley, oats, etc).
  • Eggs and egg products
  • Peanuts and peanut-based products
  • Milk and milk products
  • Sesame seeds and products based on sesame seeds
  • Sulfur dioxide and sulfites

This does not mean that they appear in all of them, but simply that they may appear in some of them.

Dried Fruits

Inevitably, the main allergen in nougat is nuts (shelled or unshelled). All our nougats are made with a nut base.

In our company we mainly elaborate artisan almond nougat, the most sold are the soft nougat of Jijona and the hard nougat of Alicante, although there is also hazelnut nougat or peanut nougat. Even so, there is a nougat that does not contain nuts, the coconut nougat.


Does nougat contain eggs? Yes, although not all.

Both turrón de Jijona and turrón de Alicante contain eggs. Our yolk nougats also contain egg as they are made with candied egg yolks. Some of our egg-free nougats are our chocolate nougats or our vegan nougats, such as nougat a la piedra or marzipan / snow nougat.

Does Nougat have gluten?

Contrary to what some people believe, nougat does not contain gluten. It is possible that in other countries or in nougats of dubious quality flour is used as part of the processing and ingredients. Our nougat has NO flour of any kind so it is a gluten free nougat.

The only gluten-containing products in our company are from our bakery catalog, such as pastelitos de gloria or pastelitos de yema. However, we are gradually adapting and removing gluten from all our products. Very few of our products contain GLUTEN.

Does nougat contain Lactose?

Although it is usual for nougat to be lactose-free, there are some nougats with lactose in our catalog. Especially the milk chocolate nougat with milk has milk. As there are so few of them, here is a list of our nougats with lactose:

Other allergens that may be contained in nougat

  • Sulfites: Sulfites (the famous E-220) are another allergen present in our products. They have been used for years as preservatives in many foods, although in some cases they are found naturally in them, without being added. Sulfites are only used in our candied fruit for several reasons, the main one being that they are a perfect antioxidant.
  • Sesame: Another allergen that can be found in our products is sesame, we only have one product that contains sesame: our nougat terronico, which contains sesame seeds.
  • Soy: Soy lecithin is an allergen that occurs naturally in many foods. It is not a chemical. We use it in chocolate because it is a natural emulsifier that helps in the formation of a homogeneous mixture in addition to being a wetting agent, which improves its smoothness in the mouth.

How do we inform our customers about allergens?

In turrones la colmena we inform according to the regulations all the allergens of our turrones . Among the forms we highlight the following:

  • Labeling of each product: For some years now, all the information on allergens must appear in the list of ingredients of each product, and each allergen must stand out from the rest of the ingredients with a different typography (font, style, background color…).
  • Below each description on our website: Below each description you will find each allergen pertaining to each specific nougat or candy.
  • Product data sheets: Our company has formulas and ingredient lists. On them we are obliged to write down all allergens and possible allergens in which the product may have come into contact with

What is cross-contamination?

Inevitably in some cases it is impossible for us to eliminate allergen cross-contamination in our products.

Indirect cross-contamination occurs when there is a minimal probability that our machinery will come into contact with other foods that may contain an allergen.

For example, if we make peanut nougat, no matter how much we clean it, there can always be some residue in the factory, which can contaminate other nougats.

We try our best to ensure that there are no traces in our sweets, but the regulations are very strict and we prefer to always tell the truth.

Doubts about allergens and nougat and Christmas sweets?

As explained, nougat allergens are a very important thing for our company. If you think there is anything else we should add to this post regarding allergens and intolerances, please contact us via chat and we will add as much allergen information as we can.

All of our labeling lists allergens and we are very careful about this. If you think we should change anything, let us know in the chat.

Now that you know the allergens in nougat, visit our categories.